Message Security Settings

There was big change recently to how Protected Trust works. The Message Security Settings dialog, which is the pop-up window that displays after clicking the Send button on the Web Portal or in Outlook, will now only display if Protected Trust needs input from the user.

What this means for you, the user, is that if you are sending to a registered user or a client is replying to a message you sent, the sender of the protected message will not see the Message Security Settings dialog. If you are sending to an unregistered recipient, then you will still see the Message Security Settings dialog because a verification method must be set for the recipient.

The reason for this change is to simplify the sending process for all users. If all recipients on a message are registered there is not a strong reason to display the dialog or a need to review the verification methods for the recipients. It is an extra step that slows down the sending process and may even cause confusion, especially to new users.

In order for this change to take place, we needed to remove the expiration and receipt notification options from the Message Security Settings dialog.

Web Portal

On the Web Portal, expiration and receipt notification are now on the right hand side of the Compose page. If you want a message you are sending to expire, click on the drop-down that says “Use default retention” and choose an expiration value. If you want receipt notification to be turned on for the message, check the “Notify me when viewed” checkbox.

Web - New Compose

Outlook Add-in

In Outlook, expiration and receipt notification are now controlled in the ribbon, next the toggle button that controls whether or not a message is protected. If you want change the expiration for a message, click the drop-down that displays Default and choose an expiration value. If you want receipt notification to be turned on for the message, click the “Read Receipt” button.

Outlook - New Compose

Sending Protected Messages

Once you have set the desired protected message options, just click send. If all recipients are registered with Protected Trust, then the Message Security Settings dialog will not display. If there are unregistered recipients, then the Message Security Settings dialog will display and you will be required to select verification methods for the recipients.