There has been some confusion lately about the difference between adding a user to your Protected Trust organization and inviting a friend to Protected Trust.

The Protected Trust Web Portal has two ways to add users but their purposes are completely different. The Add Users page allows organizational admins to add users to their organizations and the Invite a Friend page allows any user to invite a frequent contact to Protected Trust as a free user.

The Add Users page is only accessible to organizational admins. Any user added through this page will be a part of the organization and will be billed by Protected Trust. Only employees of your company should be invited to Protected Trust through the Add Users page.

The Invite a Friend page is accessible to all users and should be used to tell a new user about Protected Trust or invite a frequent contact that is not an employee of your company to Protected Trust. Encouraging frequent contacts to register for Protected Trust is a good idea because then they gain access to the full functionality of Protected Trust, including the Inbox and Sent lists. They will also not have to do verification for each message you send them using Registered Credentials.

Add Users

Organizational admins should use the Add Users button on the Dashboard to add users to their organizations. To get to the Dashboard, click the My Dashboard link in the upper right corner of any Protected Trust web page. On the Dashboard, look to the center of the screen and notice the Add Users button.

Clicking the Add Users button will bring the admin to this screen:

Type the First Name, Last Name, and Email Address of the user you want to invite to your organization. Only click the Administrator checkbox if you want the user to have admin rights. Remember that any users added to your organization will be billed by Protected Trust.

Note the "+ more" link below the last Email Address field. Click this link to add more fields to the screen, to add more users at one time.

Invite a Friend

All users, admins and non-admins, have the ability to invite other users to the Protected Trust application. Using the Invite a Friend page will not add a user to your organization. Any user invited through this page will be a free user of Protected Trust. The user can upgrade to a business account if he or she chooses.

The Invite a Friend button is available on right side of Dashboard. To get to the Dashboard, click the My Dashboard link in the upper right corner of any Protected Trust web page. The Invite a Friend page can also be access via the blue Invite button, which is located that top of every page.

Clicking the Invite a Friend button will bring the user to this screen:

If you have any questions or would like to know more about Protected Trust please contact Support.